What I do

Right now I make doggie cookies that are wheat, corn, soy, and gluten free. It all sorta started when we brought Vera home and she wouldn’t partake in any of the fancy or ho-hum store bought treats we offered her. She would take them from us and then promptly walk away and spit them out. She eagerly wanted a treat from us, but what we were offering wasn’t cutting it. It saddened me since all I wanted to do was shower her with love, attention, and affection after she was dumped in a shelter by her first owner. In typical Lauren fashion; to the internet I ran!

I started searching up all sorts of homemade doggie treats. I sifted through them until I found one that had only a handful of ingredients and didn’t seem to complicated. While I am a pretty successful home cook, I still don’t like to bite off more than I can chew with a new venture (psst, sometimes I do anyways) and tried to keep it simple. I found a Pumpkin Peanut Butter treat on Use Real Butter initially that I tested. It was an instant hit. My dogs loved them. Vera approved!

I brought treats to my dog owning friends. Their dogs loved them. I started sharing more and more of the treats with my friends and people started offering to pay for them. Wow. It wasn’t really the reaction I was looking for, but I was spending money out of my pocket and eventually have started collecting payment to basically cover the expense of making cookies and developing new flavors. After such a warm response I opened an Etsy shop to make our cookies available to everyone.

I started doing research about dog dietary needs and allergies to make sure I didn’t get anyone sick and soon learned that wheat isn’t the best grain for dogs. I should have known this seeing as I am gluten intolerant and can’t consume wheat, barlet, rye, or spelt grains. Duh. I went back to the kitchen and started playing around to eliminate the wheat. Steel cut oats have become the answer for now. I fresh grind them for every recipe. I also started thinking of more dog enticing flavors. Cheddar Peanut Butter and Roasted Turkey Apple were instant hits.

Wheat, Corn, Soy and Gluten Free Pumpkin Peanut Butter Dog Cookie

You can check out our cookies here:

Leave a Reply

